Afrikaans is a West Germanic language that developed in South Africa during the 17th century. It evolved from the Dutch dialects spoken by the Dutch settlers, known as the Boers, who arrived in the Cape of Good Hope in the late 16th century. Afrikaans has been influenced by other languages such as Malay, Portuguese, and Bantu languages. It is spoken by around 7 million people in South Africa, Namibia, and to a lesser extent in Botswana and Zimbabwe. It is also used as a second language by many people in South Africa. Afrikaans is the third most spoken language in South Africa after Zulu and Xhosa. It is also used as a medium of instruction in schools and universities in South Africa.